Self Issued X509 Certification Token

At the company I work for, there was a need to create a n-tier application with username authentication.

For some reason WCF requires a certificate which is understandable, but shouldn’t this be a choice of my company?I will not get deep with WCF about this part. Maybe in another section.

So what is the problem. The problem is that everyone talks about making a self issued certification token and using it to run in development, but few talk about deploying the application. And most of those few have posted questions that remain unanswered or have posted some guidelines that do not work entirely.

My development machine is Vista 32 based and target deployment was for both Vista 32 and Windows Server 2003 both environments under their respective IIS.

First of all, the token must be created. At start as many of you, I knew little about certificates. I really believe this not to be a common interest for developers, so it has been really annoying not to really understand what has been happening or why that command was user. It is fair to say that at the moment, I haven’t really understood why the solution works, probably because after not being able to find solutions for my problems I had to resort to trial and error. Additionally Microsoft does not make public a lot of information about the subject or relevant APIS and their errors. There are some tools for example that generate a very common error message that one can not track the reason causing it.

Certificates manager console will be required with knowledge of it for importing and exporting.

Anyway, lets start.

First I will discuss how to create a self issued token through the development token. To token is created for a WCF service and its store location will be LocalMachine and store name My. My post is not for WCF so I assume that one knows what the above means for WCF.

Then I will discuss how to setup IIS in the development machine.

Last in this post I will tell you how to reuse the above token in other machines.

Token Creation

In order to create a self issued token, you must have installed in the machine Windows SDK. Because the machine is a development the above should be found in :\Program Files\Microsoft SDKs\Windows\v6.0A\Bin for Vista and XP and C:\Program Files\Microsoft Platform SDK\Bin for Windows 2003.If not found for windows 2003 you can download it from here. In any case WSDK will refer from now on to the appropriate path.

In order to create the token a certification authority token must be created first and then the token itself issued by the above. In order to keep it simple we assume that TokenCA is the certificate authority token and TokenCert is the certification token based on TokenCA.

In order for the above to work for wcf, the key must be exportable so in each command that it is required the appropriate flag is used. I will not analyze the commands, you can do it from the help or Internet.

The goal of the next steps is to create a zip file with the reusable token.All files will be saved in C:\ . Password will be required. I chose one and used it everywhere.

Create Certification Authority

Open a command prompt for the WSDK path.

Execute makecert -n “CN=TokenCA” -r -sky exchange -pe -sv C:\TokenCA.pvk C:\TokenCA.cer

Create Certification Token

Execute makecert -sk =TokenCert -iv C:\TokenCA.pvk -n “CN=TokenCert” -ic C:\TokenCA.cer -sky exchange -pe C:\TokenCert.cer -sr LocalMachine -ss My

Import Token

In order to Import Token you must open the Certificates manager from the mmc.

In the Trusted Root Certification Authorities under certificated select import and choose the TokenCA.cer we created.

Then in the Personal under Certificated select import and choose TokenCert.cer.

At this stage the token is ready to be used by the development WCF Service.

Export Token

In the Personal under Certificated select import and choose the token we created and select export. On the question if you want the export the private key, choose YES.

image

Then select like the next picture

image

Then enter password, and select where it should be stored. I entered c:\Token.pfx.

At this stage in c:\ there should be 4 files starting with token which you can pack but the reusable part is the Token.pfx.

Deploying in another machine

Now we want to use the above certificate. In the certificates manager in Certificates node under Personal you import the TokenCert.pfx enter the password and mark the key as exportable like this

image

IIS Setup

In order for any process to use the token we created or imported, that process must have read rights under the user it is running over the actual file windows created for the certificate token (TokenCert).

So for IIS NETWORK_SERVICE must have read access over the file.

If the OS is Windows 2003 you can use WinHttpCertCfg.exe which has two problems. First it is deprecated for Vista and second most important it gives the user Full Control access. So I do not recommend it. In any case use it like this winhttpcertcfg -g -c LOCAL_MACHINE\My -s “TokenCert” -a “NETWORK SERVICE”

Windows itself want tell you the file itself. In order to locate it you must follow these instructions.After you have located is just give the right like every other folder/file sharing.

Now the IIS can access the certificate. If you don’t do this the service will fail in every attempt including just hitting the svc which I used as a test.

In Vista there is another way through the certificates manager. You can select the certificate token (TokenCert) and right click -> All Tasks -> Manage Private Keys will display the access rights dialog for the actual file.

Questions

I can’t understand why in other machines the TokenCA is not needed. When I had also imported that, there were errors both from the finding tool and the winhttpcertcfg. This problem was resolved based truly on trial and error, but I still can’t understand why when creating the TokenCert, TokenCA is needed and then not. I know that the key is contained in the pfx, but as a mentioned my knowledge of certificates is superficial so the question still remains.

If I use the TokenCert outside the intranet will it still work?

Future Stuff

Because I want/ need automate the procedure, tools will be written to do the above in sequence. When I do, I surely post here or on codeproject.

Conclusions

Any questions you might have, please just ask and if I can help I will. The above process has taken me 2 days to find and I personally find it unacceptable especially when there is a WCF authorization system that requires the use of a token.

This article is based again on a specific WCF deployment that was required of me, but I think it is irrelevant.

Hope I didn’t forget anything.

Finally let me just say that the simplest and oldest authorization has been turned into a deployment nightmare. Hope this article helps the community. As always everything is great when Microsoft evangelist advertise. You guys, we are not making an assignment for IT bachelors.

Leave a Reply

