WPF ShowDialog

There is an issue with ShowDialog for Windows not always obeying Modal Dialogs rules.

So I have created a static class which all ShowDialog calls will be redirected.

public static bool ShowDialog(Window dialog,Window owner)
{
    if (owner != null)
    {
        WindowInteropHelper helper = new WindowInteropHelper(dialog);
        helper.Owner = new WindowInteropHelper(owner).Handle;
    }
    bool? dialogResult = dialog.ShowDialog();
    return dialogResult.HasValue ? dialogResult.Value : false;
}

 

I’ve made some corrections so this is the new code

public static bool ShowDialog(Windowdialog, Windowowner)
{
   WindowInteropHelper helper = newWindowInteropHelper(dialog);
   if(owner != null)
   {
      helper.Owner = newWindowInteropHelper(owner).Handle;
   }
   else
  
{
      helper.Owner = GetActiveWindowClass.GetActiveWindow();
   }
   bool? dialogResult = dialog.ShowDialog();
   returndialogResult.HasValue ? dialogResult.Value : false;
}

where GetActiveWindowClass.GetActiveWindow is a interop wrapper

public static class GetActiveWindowClass
{
    [DllImport("user32.dll")]
    public static extern IntPtr GetActiveWindow();
}

 
 
 
 

5 comments

  1. I miss something here. What problem does this Solve? I dont want the Modal Dialog to be shown when I press Alt+Tab, means when I switch to a different window.

  2. I can’t understand the problem with Alt+tab. I haven’t seen any problems. The reality is that I’m not in the project that is using the above code, so If I have time I’ll try to test the Alt+Tab.

    The reason this post was made, is because reagardles the Alt+Tab WPF allowed you to click on windows that you shouldn’t be able, since a Modal window was openned.


Leave a Reply

